Thomas Böttger


Born: 15. August 1957 in Neustrelitz (Germany)

First composition: at the age of nine

Studies: In Berlin at the University of Music „Hanns Eisler“(Master degree). In Warsaw (Poland) at the

Academy of Music „Frédéric Chopin“ with the composer Tadeuz Baird- Master pupil at the Academy of Arts Berlin (1981-1983)

Winner of some compositions including the „Hanns-Eisler Price“ by German Radio (1978)

Major works: – 2 piano concertos

– concertino for oboe and string-orchestra

– 5 Rilke-songs for high voice and orchestra

(written for Sarolta Kodály)

– Nocturne for 14 strings

– „Hommage à Wagner“ for chamber orchestra

– stringquartett

– visions for cello and piano

(written for Miklós Perényi)

– „Città del futuro“

(written for Michael Massong)

– 2 poems for saxophon and piano

(written for John Edward-Kelly)

and several works for solo piano and varios chamber-ensembles.

As pianist he played in several countries and on festivals (like Kuhmo in Finland, Assisi in Italy, „Kodály Festival“ in Hungary and „Music Sommer of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern“ in Germany).